Let them eat ice cream for breakfast!

Let the shaming begin.  My almost 3 year old is hard to parent.  Her outbursts can and do last for hours.  She has left me feeling completely inadequate and failing miserably at this thing called motherhood.  Two nights ago she wakes up around 2 am screaming for bubbles.  Yes, “I WANT BUBBLES” reverberating around my halls at 2 am.  I try to be reasonable and tell her ‘the sun’s not up and coyotes are still outside’ (which they are) but she does not care.  Really she is my ‘honey badger don’t care‘ child.  I left, shut her door and hubby stepped in and dealt with it like the champion daddy that he is.

Fast forward 3 hours later and she wakes up screaming “I WANT ICE CREAM”.  My head is pounding feck me at this point.  And you know what I did?  I went into her room and said “Are you hot sweetie, is that why you need ice cream?”  She said ‘yes’.  I told her to have some water, handed her a water bottle and then I carried her down stairs.  And yes she had ice cream with sprinkles for breakfast. Smartie ice cream at that. An espresso cup size followed by latte cafe and S-cookies.  She is half Italian after all.   But don’t get me going on that crap they call Smartie ice cream.  There are actually no whole pieces of Smarties in the damn tub.  Really they need to call it Smartie Pieces because it’s just a way for Nestle to use the broken crap they can’t sell otherwise.  And seriously, I have to use sprinkles to hide the fact that there are no whole pieces of Smarties in the damn thing.  Nestle, you need to care about the kind of drama you create in the homes of parents with children in the midst of sibling rivalry that draws you into hell on a daily basis.  Nestle you owe me an apology and a box of Smarties, unbroken in that tub of ice cream.

Moral is, sometimes they get crap for breakfast because I gotta get to work.  You’re welcome daycare teachers everywhere.

Silvie

You only get your Italian card if you have S-Cookies and coffee for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

